How I love my Kindle

I got a Kindle for my birthday. It’s stunning that it’s taken me years to get one, because I’ve wanted one since they first came out. I flirted with the Nook, rubber-necked fellow commuters’ ipads, but it’s always been about the Kindle. My mom ordered it for me a couple weeks before my birthday, and Amazon promised it for early September. Oh, the wait was torturous. But it was worth it. It arrived days after Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom.

I’ve always loved reading. I used to dream of owning a bookstore/cafe (how behind the times that would be). Sadly, between a full-time job and two kids, the only possible opportunity to read is my one-hour-each-way commute. Occasionally I’d get really into a book, but then it would end up forgotten at my desk at work, or at home, and as anyone who has frequented a crowded subway car knows, flipping through a novel when your face is touching someone else’s armpit is kind of hard.

Months ago I downloaded the Kindle app for my iphone. That did solve the issue of lugging books around. But I had a hard time getting through anything more substantial than Charlaine Harris’s vampire novels. I thought maybe I was just too tired, my attention span corroded by Facebook and blogs and sleep deprivation. Maybe I was no longer a novel kinda person.

And then, the Kindle arrived. Super slim, light, easy to handle with one hand, and with a screen the size of your average paperback. It reads like a book. Real ink on virtual paper, easy on the eyes. The pages turn at the click of a finger, at either side of the screen. All the books that I had purchased for the iphone app automatically appeared once I set up the Kindle. Like magic, I am a reader again. I can’t wait to settle into my uncomfortable seat in the train to dig into a novel.

The downside, though you could also consider it a perk: the instant gratification. I can get the book I want to read (if it’s available for the Kindle, and most new books are) NOW. In seconds. I am tweaking the book budget as we speak. I am enjoying thinking about what I will download for our upcoming trip to Brazil. 10-hour flights, long airport waits. Lots of family to watch the kids at the beach… Books!

How about you? Have you gotten into electronic reading? Do you swear to turn nothing but paper pages forever? What are you reading these days, and in what format?

3 thoughts on “How I love my Kindle

  1. I love reading but haven’t done much of it in the past year. Dave and I always read before bed but I can usually only get a couple of pages in before my eyes start to shut on me. I rarely reread books – there are too many on my wish list – but decided to reread Eat, Pray, Love for the movie. Now I regret the decision since I’ve been reading it for like 4 months now! (One of the main things I miss about working – reading on the bus/train during my morning commute!). The kindle sounds great, though! You’re actually making me consider one for Dave. He still reads a lots and loves to pick up books at the bookstore. I’m more into the library since I’m cheap….

    How did you like Freedom? Oprah described him as the modern day great novelist, or something like that. She was so convincing that I’m considering shoving aside the rest of my reading list for it. Either that or his novel from a few years ago (I’d have to look up the name…)

  2. I tried to get into ereaders but it’s not made for me. I couldn’t get used to the fact that there were no paper pages to turn or book spine to break. I guess when it comes to books I will always be old fashioned. 🙂

    • Paula, you know, I wrote that post a long time ago and since then, I have had 3 Kindles die on me. 3! I quit. I am back to paper books from the library, with an occasional ebook here and there. Thanks so much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

